

## Notice of Election & Requirements for Voter Identification

Local Authorities Election Act (Sections 12, 35, 46, 53) Alberta Senate Election Act (Sections 5, 37) Referendum Act (Section 7)

Form 7RSE

Local Jurisdiction: County of Newell, Province of Alberta

Notice is hereby given:

A. That an election will be held for the filling of the following offices:

| Office(s)  | Number of<br>Vacancies | Ward or Electoral<br>Division Number |
|------------|------------------------|--------------------------------------|
| Councillor | 1                      | Division 1                           |
| Councillor | 1                      | Division 3                           |
| Councillor | 1                      | Division 5                           |
| Councillor | 1                      | Division 7                           |
| Councillor | 1                      | Division 8                           |
| Councillor | 1                      | Division 10                          |

- B. That an election will be held for the election of a Senate nominee for the purposes of the *Alberta Senate Election Act*;
- C. That a vote of the electors will be held on the following referendum question(s) under the *Referendum Act*:

Should section 36(2) of the *Constitution Act, 1982* - Parliament and the Government of Canada's commitment to the principle of making equalization payments - be removed from the constitution? and

Do you want Alberta to adopt year-round Daylight Saving Time, which is summer hours, eliminating the need to change our clocks twice a year?

Voting will take place on the 18th day of October 2021, between the hours of 10:00 am and 8:00 pm.

Voting for the Senate Election and the Referendum Questions and where required as per above for County Councillor Division Elections will be located at the following Voting Stations:

| Division 1  Rolling Hills Community Hall 135034 Hwy 875, Rolling Hills | <b>Division 2 Tilley Community Center</b> 148 – 3 <sup>rd</sup> Ave East, Tilley          | Division 3 Patricia Community Hall 236 Center Street, Patricia         |
|--|---|--|
| Division 4 Rainier Community Center 160077 Hwy 873, Rainier            | Division 5 & Division 10  County of Newell Office in Council Chambers 183037 Rge. Rd. 145 | Division 6  Bassano Community Hall  610 – 2 <sup>nd</sup> Ave. Bassano |
| Division 7  Rosemary Recplex Center 525 Center Street, Rosemary        | Division 8  Duchess Recreation Center 256 Louise Ave. West, Duchess                       | Division 9  Gem Community Center 231075 Rge. Rd. 164, Gem              |

In order to vote, you must produce identification for inspection. The identification must be one or more of

- Alberta Driver's License;
- Alberta Identification Card;
- Bank/credit card statement or personal cheque;
- · Government cheque or cheque stub;
- Income/property tax assessment notice;
- Statement of government benefits (e.g. employment insurance, old-age security, social assistance, disability support, or child tax benefit);
- Utility Bill (e.g. telephone, public utilities commission, television, hydro, gas or water)
- · Vehicle ownership, registration or insurance certificate.

as required by section 53 of the Local Authorities Election Act.

For a list of other types of acceptable ID, please visit the County website at <a href="www.countyofnewell.ab.ca">www.countyofnewell.ab.ca</a> or contact the Returning Officer at 403-794-2326.

DATED at the County of Newell in the Province of Alberta, this 22<sup>nd</sup> day of September 2021.

Returning Officer – Layne Johnson